Congress Donald Trump Elections

House Democrats May Refuse To Seat The 126 Republicans Who Tried To Overturn The 2020 Election

Now that it’s clear the U.S. Supreme Court will not agree to hear any arguments on the Texas case which sought to overturn the results of the 2020 election, and with the additional fact that electors will meet on Monday and cast their votes which will confirm that Joe Biden is the 46th President of the United States, it seems a good time to step back and ask how exactly we should respond to this unprecedented power grab made by Donald Trump and his Republican enablers in Congress.

According to one Democrat in the House, the best way to deal with the 126 GOP members of Congress who supported the Texas lawsuit is to refuse to seat those members as punishment.

Sound absurd? There’s actually a precedent for it that goes all the way back to the Civil War, and Rep. Bill Pascrell (D-NJ) says it’s time to go back to the future and apply the appropriate censure to the Republicans who were willing to subvert the will of the American people.

Pascrell carefully laid out his thinking on the matter with a document he posted on Twitter that cites the 14th Amendment to the Constitution, which reads:

“No person shall be a Senator or Representative in Congress, or elector of President and Vice President, or hold any office, civil or military, under the United States, or under any state, who, having previously taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or as an officer of the United States, or as a member of any state legislature, or as an executive or judicial officer of any state, to support the Constitution of the United States, shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the same, or given aid or comfort to the enemies thereof.”

The amendment was passed in 1868 and was clearly meant to make certain that no member of the Confederacy was ever allowed to hold public office after having committed treason by fighting against the United States.

Pascrell believes that same amendment applies to the Republicans who sought to steal an election, which is clearly an act of insurrection or rebellion:

“Stated simply, men and women who would act to tear the United States government apart cannot serve as Members of the Congress. These lawsuits seeking to obliterate public confidence in our democratic system by invalidating the clear results of the 2020 presidential election undoubtedly attack the text and spirit of the Constitution, which each Member swears to support and defend.

“Consequently, I call on you to exercise the power of your offices to evaluate steps you can take to address these constitutional violations this Congress and, if possible, refuse to seat in the 117th Congress any Members-elect seeking to make Donald Trump an unelected dictator.”

People who commit sedition against this country should not be allowed served as representatives of the government. It’s just that simple. And even if Pascrell’s suggestion isn’t implemented, at least now we all know who means this country well and who wishes to destroy it.


By Andrew Bradford

Proud progressive journalist and political adviser living behind enemy lines in Red America.

One reply on “House Democrats May Refuse To Seat The 126 Republicans Who Tried To Overturn The 2020 Election”

The 126 traitors to our democracy should not be allowed back in Congress but Democrats great fault is they play nice. It’s way past time to put up or shut up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *